LOADING
keyboard_arrow_right

Type to search

White phosphorus 7.92 mm German ammunitions

Between 1898 and 1945, the German service rifle cartridge was the excellent 7.92 mm caliber cartridge for a case length of 57 mm. The “7.92 mm” caliber refers to the average diameter of the barrel matching the ammunition adopted in 1888: called “8×57 I” by the CIP standard, the barrel has a diameter of 7.80 mm in between lands and 8.02 mm in between grooves for a bullet diameter of 8.09 mm. This was replaced in 1905 by the so-called “Spitzgeschoß” ammunition, also called “S”. In addition to a new drawing now familiar to all shooters (pointed cylindrical-ogival with flat base), it saw its caliber increase: 7.89 mm in in between lands and 8.20 mm in between grooves, for a bullet diameter announced at 8.22 mm.

The Germans mainly used three materials to make the cases. Were successively and then simultaneously employed:

  • Brass: alloy of copper and zinc conventionally in a proportion of 67% copper and 33% zinc.
  • From the second half of the First World War, steel protected by electrolysis against oxidation thanks to a copper plating (varnished or not).
  • And finally green lacquered steel cases which appeared in the 40s.

Spitzgeschossoß mit Phosphor and Flugzeubrand ammunitions

The bullets offer a remarkable multitude of variants and compositions, a sign of the dynamism and fruitful spirit of the German armament engineers. They started to develop phosphorus ammunition as soon as WWI. For the record, white phosphorus, from the Greek purophoros “which carries fire”, is a solid chemical compound called “pyrophoric”, that is, which ignites spontaneously when in contact with the oxygen from the air. Its combustion gives off a very high temperature (said as being up to 2,760 °C) as well as a cloud of very dense white smoke, which makes it a frequent use for the composition of smoke ammunition (Pic. 1). An early version of an ammunition containing phosphorus seems to have been inspired by British .303 caliber ammunition frequently referred to as “smoke-tracers“. The German ammunition developed in 1916, it was called “Pr.L” (probably for Phosphor Leuchtspur, or “phosphorus tracer”) and quickly gave way to another version called “S.PrSpitzgeschos mit Phosphor : pointed phosphorus bullet. These cartridges were mainly intended for weapons embedded in airplanes or Zeppelins to ignite fuel from allied aircraft tanks or hydrogen balloons from artillery control balloons.

Our subscriptions
The subscription gives you access to an online library of works. This is intended to increase on a regular and continuous basis. Here, for an investment equivalent to a single paper book, you will find an unparalleled and unprecedented amount of information.

Introductory offer

€30.00 per Year.

For our first subscribers

45€ → 30€ !
Or 2,5€ per month
  • Access to all our publications
  • Access to all our books
Subscribe

    Do not miss any further content : subscribe and get notified by mail!

    *We hate spamming as much as you do!

    Article suivant
    Gilles Sigro-Peyrousère

    Graduated gunsmith from the Saint-Étienne Gunsmithing School, Gilles has a strong passion for history, weapons and militaria. Self-employed gunsmith for more than 30 years, Expert for the French Department of Justice in antique weapons, he has appraised numerous collections for auction all over France.

    error: Content is protected !!

CHARGEMENT
keyboard_arrow_right

Type to search

Les munitions allemandes de 7,92 mm au phosphore blanc

La cartouche réglementaire allemande pour arme longue en usage entre 1898 et 1945 était l’excellente cartouche de calibre 7,92 mm pour une longueur d’étui de 57 mm. Le calibre « 7,92 mm » fait référence au diamètre moyen du canon portant la munition adoptée en 1888 : dénommé «8×57 I » par la CIP, le canon est doté d’un diamètre 7,80 mm en plat de rayure et de 8.02 mm en fond de rayure pour un projectile de 8.09 mm. Celle-ci fût remplacée en 1905 par la munition dite « Spitzgeschoß » aussi appelé plus simplement « S ». En plus d’un nouveau profil désormais familier à tous les tireurs (cylindro-ogival pointu à base plate), celle-ci voyait son calibre augmenter : 7,89 mm en plat de rayure et 8,20 mm en fond de rayure, pour un diamètre de projectile annoncé à 8,22 mm.

Les Allemands utilisèrent principalement trois matériaux pour fabriquer les étuis. Furent successivement puis concomitamment employés :

  • Le laiton : alliage de cuivre et de zinc classiquement dans une proportion de 67% de cuivre et 33% de zinc.
  • Dès la seconde moitié de la Première Guerre mondiale, de l’acier protégé par électrolyse contre l’oxydation grâce un revêtement de cuivre (vernis ou non)
  • Et enfin des étuis en acier laqué vert. Apparus dans les années 40.

Les munitions Spitzgeschoß mit Phosphor et Flugzeubrand

Les projectiles eux, offrent, une multitude remarquable de variantes et de compositions, signe du dynamisme et de l’esprit fécond des ingénieurs de l’armement allemand. Dès la Première Guerre Mondiale furent développées des munitions dont le projectile, qui outre du plomb, contenait une charge de phosphore blanc. Pour mémoire, le phosphore blanc, du grec purophoros « qui porte le feu », est un composé chimique solide dit « pyrophorique », c’est-à-dire, qui s’enflamme spontanément au contact de l’oxygène de l’air. Sa combustion dégage une très forte température (annoncée comme pouvant atteindre 2 760°C) ainsi qu’un nuage de fumée blanche très dense, ce qui lui vaut un usage fréquent pour la composition de fumigène (Fig.1). Une version précoce de munition contenant du phosphore semble avoir été inspirée par des munitions britanniques de calibre .303 British fréquemment qualifiées de « smoke-tracers » par les anglo-saxons. La munition allemande développée en 1916, elle fût dénommée « Pr.L » (sans doute pour Phosphor Leuchtspur, soit « traçante au phosphore ») et céda rapidement la place à une autre version dénommée « S.Pr » Spitzgeschos mit Phosphor : balle pointue au phosphore. Ces cartouches étaient principalement destinées aux armes embarquées dans les aéroplanes ou les Zeppelins pour enflammer les combustibles des réservoirs des avions alliés ou les ballonnets d’hydrogènes des ballons de réglage d’artillerie. 

Nos abonnements
L'abonnement vous offre l'accès à une bibliothèque d'œuvres en ligne. Celle-ci a vocation à s'accroître de façon régulière et continue. Vous trouverez ici, pour un investissement équivalent à un seul et unique ouvrage papier, une quantité d’informations inégalée et inédite à ce jour.

Offre de Lancement.

30.00€ par Année.

Pour nos premiers abonnés

45€ → 30€ !
Soit 2,5 € par mois
  • Accès à tous nos articles
  • Accès à tous nos livres
S'abonner

    Ne manquez plus rien, vous serez averti par mail de la sortie de nos articles !

    *Nous aussi nous détestons les spams

    Article suivant
    Gilles Sigro-Peyrousère

    Armurier diplômé de l'école de d'Armurerie de Saint-Étienne, Gilles est avant tout un passionné d'histoire, d'armes et de militaria. Armurier à son compte depuis plus de 30 ans, Expert près la Cour d'Appel de Toulouse en armes anciennes, il expertise de nombreuses collections pour des ventes aux enchères partout en France.

    error: Content is protected !!