LOADING
keyboard_arrow_right

Type to search

An “Ersatz” Sharpshooter Mauser K98k

Searching head on for the myth of the German “Mauser sniper” of the WWII by looking for a true original piece could be similar to the quest for the Holy Grail and at the same time to participate in a pigeon shooting game, but on the wrong side of the buttstock, as there are so many+ fakes circulating on the market. In the absence of vintage copies, ersatz (a clever reformulation intended to designate a copy known to be a “fake”), would deliberately give some answers on the implementation of these particular weapons. These do not relate to the nature of a hallmark or that of an assembly, but to a shooting technique common to all these materials. As for a ballistic performance elevated to the rank of drunkard tales, is it necessary to recall that these are only simple infantry rifles. We will begin this modest study with the model called in the Anglo-Saxon literature “short side rail mount“. (Pic. 1)

The weapon

This is of course an authentic Mauser K98k of CE manufacture, the factory code for JP Sauer & Sohn in Suhl indicates the year 1941. Its first advantage is to be all matching number and to possess a mirror-like barrel that has not suffered the outrage of time and men. A front sight tunnel, a cleaning rod and a vintage strap complete it. Laminated stock, cupped buttplate and machined parts place it in the category of carefully manufactured weapons. This is already a first positive point. The quality of shooting is also at the rendezvous as the shooting tests will show. No need to dwell on the description of the weapon, nothing notable brightens up our copy. (Pic. 2) Now purists may have to avert their eyes, it is in 8×60, a rechambering not only of historical value, but the least mutilating of them all. Indeed, many “war rifles” were demilitarized as such to make hunting weapons in Germany by the end of WWI. This cartridge duplicates the original load for this K98k in heavy pointed bullet “schweres Spitzgeschoss” (known as s.S.) of 12.8 g. This cartridge therefore logically made it possible to “civilize” this veteran in the dark days when it was thought that it posed a risk to Judeo-Christian civilization and civil peace. (TN: For many years in France, military related caliber such as 8×57 IS or .30-06 Springfield were subject to a very binding regulation) A much wiser choice than the 8×64 S and 8×68 S that have forever mutilated many authentic barrels.

Our subscriptions
The subscription gives you access to an online library of works. This is intended to increase on a regular and continuous basis. Here, for an investment equivalent to a single paper book, you will find an unparalleled and unprecedented amount of information.

Introductory offer

€30.00 per Year.

For our first subscribers

45€ → 30€ !
Or 2,5€ per month
  • Access to all our publications
  • Access to all our books
Subscribe

    Do not miss any further content : subscribe and get notified by mail!

    *We hate spamming as much as you do!

    Pierre Breuvart

    Shooter. Collector. Military training. Now retired after 22 years of service. Reservist of the French Gendarmerie Nationale (all smallarms Shooting Instructor).

    error: Content is protected !!

CHARGEMENT
keyboard_arrow_right

Type to search

Un Mauser K98k de Tireur d’Élite « Ersatz »

S’attaquer à la nébuleuse du « Mauser tireur d’élite » allemand de la WWII en cherchant l’oiseau rare pourrait s’apparenter d’une part à la quête du Graal puis d’autre part à participer au tir au pigeon, mais du mauvais côté de la plaque de couche, tant les faux circulent sur le marché. Faute d’exemplaires d’époque, des ersatz (habile reformulation destinée à désigner un exemplaire connu pour être un « faux »), vont délibérément venir donner quelques réponses sur la mise en œuvre de ces armes particulières. Celle-ci ne relève pas de la nature d’un poinçon ou de celle d’un montage, mais d’une technique du tir commune à tous ces matériels. Quant à une prestation balistique élevée au rang du mythe de comptoir, est-il nécessaire de rappeler que ce ne sont là que de simples fusils d’infanterie. Nous entamerons cette modeste étude avec le modèle appelé dans la littérature anglo-saxonne « short side rail mount » ou plus gauloisement « montage latéral court ». (Photo 1)

L’arme

Il s’agit bien entendu d’un authentique Mauser K98k de fabrication CE, le code usine pour JP Sauer & Sohn à Suhldatée 41. Son premier avantage est d’être tout au même numéro et de posséder un canon brillant n’ayant pas subi l’outrage du temps et des hommes. Un protège guidon, une baguette et une bretelle d’époque viennent le compléter. Monture en lamellé-collé, plaque de couche enveloppante et pièces usinées le placent dans la catégorie des fabrications soignées. C’est déjà un premier point positif. La qualité de tir est aussi au rendez-vous comme le révèlera les essais de tir. Inutile de s’attarder sur la description de l’arme, rien de notable n’égaye notre exemplaire (Photo 2).Maintenant, puristes s’abstenir, il est en 8 x 60, un rechambrage non seulement à valeur historique, mais le moins mutilant. En effet, bon nombre de « fusils de guerre » ont été démilitarisés ainsi pour en faire des armes de chasse, en Allemagne à l’issue de la première guerre mondiale. Cette cartouche permet de dupliquer le chargement d’origine pour ce K98ken balle pointue lourde « schweres Spitzgeschoss » (dite s.S.) de 12,8 g. Cette cartouche a donc logiquement permit de civiliser cet ancien combattant au temps obscur où l’on pensait qu’il présentait un risque pour la civilisation judéo-chrétienne et la paix civile. Choix beaucoup plus judicieux que les 8 x 64 S et 8 x 68 S qui ont mutilé à jamais bon nombre de canons authentiques.

Nos abonnements
L'abonnement vous offre l'accès à une bibliothèque d'œuvres en ligne. Celle-ci a vocation à s'accroître de façon régulière et continue. Vous trouverez ici, pour un investissement équivalent à un seul et unique ouvrage papier, une quantité d’informations inégalée et inédite à ce jour.

Offre de Lancement.

30.00€ par Année.

Pour nos premiers abonnés

45€ → 30€ !
Soit 2,5 € par mois
  • Accès à tous nos articles
  • Accès à tous nos livres
S'abonner

    Ne manquez plus rien, vous serez averti par mail de la sortie de nos articles !

    *Nous aussi nous détestons les spams

    Pierre Breuvart

    Tireur. Collectionneur. Militaire de formation. Retraité après 22 ans de service. Réserviste Gendarmerie Nationale (Instructeur tir toutes armes).

    error: Content is protected !!