LOADING
keyboard_arrow_right

Type to search

The Cordero revolver

Built on a hillside, the small town of Eibar (Spain) has been home to a local industry focused on the manufacture of small arms since ancient times. In the mid-nineteenth century, the O’Donnell Law facilitated the free sale of arms in the Iberian Peninsula and the opening of markets abroad. Production was diversifying, but the industries in the area did not quite develop, consisting of small workshops spread over a small geographical zone. The workshops, which often had only three to four workers, subcontracted to larger companies that assembled and marketed weapons.

At that time, Spanish gunsmiths benefited from very advantageous legislation in the field of industrial property. It allowed them to copy, without too much risk, what was best done abroad. When the Balkan Wars began between 1912 and 1913, Spanish arms manufacturers came to play the troublemakers in a market hitherto held by their Liège competitors. The market was promising, and Eibar manufacturers were doing everything necessary to satisfy their new customers.

The Spanish companies Gárate, Anitua y Cia. and Orbea Hermanos were particularly well established in the region where they had been marketing for some years “Montenegrin” revolvers (derived from the Austro-Hungarian revolver Gasser 1870) produced in Eibar. These were heavy, bulky weapons, chambered in 11.3x36mm R, with a capacity of five or six shots and equipped with barrels of variable length.

But in 1912-13, demands changed and manufacturers had to adapt. The large Gasser revolvers had gone out of fashion and the adoption of newer models, in calibers 7.62 millimeters for Russia and 8 millimeters for France, influenced the market. This was the beginning of a radical transformation of weapons production in Eibar where more and more modern copies of Colt and Smith & Wesson revolvers were emerging.

Among the best-established players in these new markets, one company was doing particularly well: Gárate, Anitua y Cia.

Our subscriptions
The subscription gives you access to an online library of works. This is intended to increase on a regular and continuous basis. Here, for an investment equivalent to a single paper book, you will find an unparalleled and unprecedented amount of information.

Introductory offer

€30.00 per Year.

For our first subscribers

45€ → 30€ !
Or 2,5€ per month
  • Access to all our publications
  • Access to all our books
Subscribe

    Do not miss any further content : subscribe and get notified by mail!

    *We hate spamming as much as you do!

    Jean-Pierre Bastié

    Born in 1957, Jean-Pierre Bastié got his first weapon at the age of 12. It was a Diana air rifle with which he fired his first rounds. Since then his interest in guns has not dwindled. He was a hunter, a shooter, a competitor with ancient weapons and then a collector before he founded the Académie des Armes Anciennes (Antique Weapons Academy in France) in 1987.
    For more than thirty years, he has been collaborating with the editors of various French and foreign magazines specializing in weapons. A tireless researcher, he has been scouring the archives (like those of Châtellerault, visible on his profile picture) for ages in search of unpublished sources.


    http://www.academie-des-armes-anciennes.com/

    error: Content is protected !!

CHARGEMENT
keyboard_arrow_right

Type to search

Le révolver Cordero

Construite à flanc de colline, la petite ville d’Eibar (en Espagne) abrite depuis des temps anciens une industrie locale, tournée vers la fabrication des armes portatives. Au milieu du XIXe siècle, la loi O’Donnell facilite la vente libre des armes dans la péninsule Ibérique et l’ouverture de marchés à l’étranger. La production se diversifie, mais le tissu industriel reste figé, constitué de petits ateliers répartis dans une zone géographique réduite. Les ateliers, qui ne comptent souvent que trois ou quatre ouvriers, sous-traitent pour des entreprises plus importantes qui assurent le montage et la commercialisation des armes.

À cette époque, les armuriers espagnols bénéficient d’une législation très avantageuse dans le domaine de la propriété industrielle. Elle leur permet de copier, sans trop de risques, ce qui se fait de mieux à l’étranger. Lorsque débutent les guerres balkaniques entre 1912 et 1913, les industriels espagnols de l’armement viennent jouer les trouble-fêtes sur un marché tenu jusque-là par leurs concurrents liégeois. Le marché est prometteur et les fabricants d’Eibar font tout le nécessaire pour satisfaire leurs nouveaux clients.

Les sociétés espagnoles Gárate, Anitua y Cia. et Orbea Hermanos sont particulièrement bien implantées dans la région où elles commercialisent depuis quelques années des revolvers « Monténégrins »  (dérivés du révolver austro-hongrois Gasser 1870) produits à Eibar. Des armes lourdes, encombrantes, chambrées en 11,3x36mm R, d’une capacité de cinq ou six coups et munies de canons de longueur variable.

Mais en 1912-13, les demandes changent et les fabricants doivent s’adapter. Les gros revolvers Gasser sont passés de mode et l’adoption de modèles plus récents, en calibres 7,62 millimètres pour la Russie et 8 millimètres pour la France, influence le marché. C’est le début d’une transformation radicale de la production des armes à Eibar où l’on voit apparaître de plus en plus de copies modernes de revolvers Colt et Smith & Wesson.

Parmi les acteurs les mieux implantés sur ces nouveaux marchés, une entreprise tire particulièrement bien son épingle du jeu : la société Gárate, Anitua y Cia.

Nos abonnements
L'abonnement vous offre l'accès à une bibliothèque d'œuvres en ligne. Celle-ci a vocation à s'accroître de façon régulière et continue. Vous trouverez ici, pour un investissement équivalent à un seul et unique ouvrage papier, une quantité d’informations inégalée et inédite à ce jour.

Offre de Lancement.

30.00€ par Année.

Pour nos premiers abonnés

45€ → 30€ !
Soit 2,5 € par mois
  • Accès à tous nos articles
  • Accès à tous nos livres
S'abonner

    Ne manquez plus rien, vous serez averti par mail de la sortie de nos articles !

    *Nous aussi nous détestons les spams

    Jean-Pierre Bastié

    Né en 1957, Jean-Pierre Bastié a eu sa première arme à l’âge de 12 ans, une carabine Diana à air comprimé avec laquelle il a tiré ses premiers cartons. Depuis son intérêt pour les armes n’a pas cessé. Il a été successivement chasseur, tireur, compétiteur aux armes anciennes puis collectionneur avant de fonder l’Académie des Armes Anciennes en 1987.
    Il collabore depuis plus de trente ans avec les rédactions de diverses revues françaises et étrangères spécialisées dans le domaine des armes. Chercheur infatigable il écume les archives (comme celles de Châtellerault, visible sur sa photo de présentation) depuis des lustres à la recherche de sources inédites.


    http://www.academie-des-armes-anciennes.com/

    error: Content is protected !!